Karthigai Deepam


Image

Here is my dedication to lord Muruga, as he is one of my favorite characters and my sons’. The chubby, cute, brave and charming boy that won the hearts of many girls.

I used to love singing small bhajans written about him since there was so much of dedication and love that could be easily expressed while singing.

Anyway, my family believes this deepam is lit to welcome the homecoming of Karthikeya (a.k.a) after he showcased his valour against the demon Narakasura. The Narakasura vadam hence is celebrated as Diwali which is followed by Skandar shashti and then the Karthigai Deepam.

This time I bought these lamp holders to paint and my son swiped 3 of the 4 and let me paint just one. He observed me for a few minutes before he went ahead listening to the dance of his brush. It was almost a poetic moment for me. After he finished his I couldn’t believe my eyes. The perfection of his work was wonderful for a 6 year old. I was at the top of the world since he learnt to run the brush just by observing. There was no exchange of words, no teaching, no practice and trial at all. He just confidently went at it. I had tears in my eyes.

painted lamp holders

He is the light of my life. šŸ™‚

What would you like to say

