Adorning Art

My sister does lots of my shopping for me. I make sure she is around when I do my purchases because she takes care of trends and styles for me. Ya, she is a lot cooler than I will ever be. She bought me a few plain kurtas from Fab India, which is where I prefer to shop because they are one of the few brands who make sure the weavers are remunerated well enough unlike all other commercial clothing brands in India.

One day as I had finished all my orders I picked up one of those and realised it was a chines collar kurta for my 4 year old. A rust colour that screamed warli. I picked it up and made a simple stick figured border on the bottom and a strip around the button and collar area with a usual folk art triangular motif with a dark maroon colour.

Hand-painted kurta
Hand-painted kurta
Hand-painted kurta
Hand-painted kurta

I picked it up and just loved the look of it. That was enough to get me started. How many more kurtas I placed my hands on after a week of that is what you can see below in the photos.

Warli art, Madhubani art, block printing and Gond art are a few I have tried…

hand-painted kurta-

hand-painted kurta-
hand-painted kurta-
hand-painted kurta-
hand-painted kurta-
hand-painted kurta-
hand-painted kurti
hand-painted kurti – girls
hand-painted kurta-
hand-painted kurta-
What would you like to say

